TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« LOVE ON THE ROAD | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

04/19/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

THIS WEEK ZOË FORGETS INDIAN BLISS AND ENCOUNTERS LADDISHNESS IN LAOS

Train Man has gone from lad to worse. On Monday his friend Phil joined us for a week so we can travel to Cambodia together, and if my newly-shorn love was starting to show some geezer tendencies before, he's now making Paul Danan look like a sensitive guy.

It's not Phil's fault – it's good to see him. Apart from the fact I can beat him at rummy, he also brought out two bars of Green & Black's, plus a bumper bag of Cadbury's Mini Eggs. But I think Phil's presence has exacerbated Train Man's new-found laddishness.

We're in Laos, yet every night TM's managed to track down a pub to watch another bloody Premier League/Champions League/UEFA cup match. I'm starting to wonder if there are three people in this relationship (me, TM and Ronaldo). And the other night, when he beat me and Phil at rummy, TM downed his beer, punched me on the arm and said "'ave it!" I gave him A Look and went off to hang out with Mr Green & Mr Black.

Don't let Train Man know I said this, but I'm getting a strange satisfaction from this new dynamic. While he's playing Danan-aman with Phil, it's giving me the perfect excuse to bugger off on my own. I can have a pedicure or email my friend Esther to catch up on all the goss without feeling guilty that Train Man is patiently waiting outside.

I need space to do my own things – it's not natural to be with someone 24/7. And I was missing Esther's gossip: how else would I have found out about pregnant friends, Patrick Swayze or the New Kids' reunion tour?

And when TM comes to our hostel bed at night feeling sheepish, he's very sweet. So I'll keep rolling my eyes, but this lady won't protest too much.

Miles covered: 108
Terse sentences exchanged: 0 (we've barely spoken)

Next week: Things get frosty with Train Man

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e551ee6ca68834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

Wayne Campbell

Cambodia must be so amazing! Is it true that it's pronounced "Cam-bo-dee-ah"? Like the fruit? Watch out for toads!

Wayne Campbell

The comments to this entry are closed.