TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« LOVE ON THE ROAD | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

07/26/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

Love on the road


This week ZoË and train man
go mountain climbing



THIS WEEK ZOË ENJOYS A SEX AND THE CITY DAY IN MELBOURNE

Forgot what a First World girl I am. Since arriving in Melbourne on Sunday I've ditched surfer-girl chic, had a haircut and bought some stunning silver heels. I'm preened, plucked and willing to ignore the fact this country is ridiculously expensive – even if Train Man isn't. Oh and I've finally seen the Sex And The City movie. It was the perfect end to a great girlie day. I packed Train Man off to the Melbourne Cricket Ground, while I discovered the hidden boutiques of Melbourne: vintage stores, beautiful stationers and cake shops galore – I love this city!

It's the quality time apart we needed after a tetchy end to Asia, and I planned to end my day on a solo date with Carrie and the girls. "It's OK, I'll come with you," said Train Man, as if he was sparing me from being that loser on their own in the cinema. What he didn't know is I wanted to go alone.

"No it's all right, you're not a fan. I'm happy on my own." What I really meant was: "If you come you'll scoff and that'll detract from my enjoyment."

But Train Man stood firm. He secretly wanted to see it.

"OK come," I conceded. "But only if you promise not to huff and puff – and not to get annoyed with my popcorn rustling. I've looked forward to this for months."

He promised. And he was a man of his word. Although I did catch him glancing at his watch halfway through. But I didn't care: the dresses, the laughs, the drama, Big…

But my First World revelry ran out when we got back to our digs. In Bali our budget bought us a marble suite; we're now sleeping in a stinky eight-bunk dorm. And the biggest shock about my new reality? I don't have Carrie's walk-in wardrobe. Gutted.

Miles travelled: 2,896

Terse sentences exchanged: 1

Bank balance: Plummeting

Next week: Zoë meets 'Russell Crowe' in the Outback

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e553cc95568834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.