TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« Love on the road | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

02/10/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

She fell in love on her daily commute. Now Zoë Smith invites you along on her travels with ‘Train Man’

Last Thursday, and the bright red digits on the check-in desk scales filled me with pride. My backpack, containing my entire life for a year, weighed just 13.8kg – lighter than Train Man's meaty 16.9kg.

Ever since that fateful day six months ago when he sent me a text saying: "Sod this, let's rent out the house and go travelling", two words dominated my thoughts: capsule wardrobe. When Train Man bought me a backpack, I nearly cried as I examined the lack of space. "My footwear won't even fit in!" He looked unimpressed. And like that Meryl Streep film where she has to choose between her children, I had to pick running shoes or heels. (In case you're wondering, I chose the running shoes. I'm hoping to get some knock-off Jimmy Choos in Bangkok.)

I vowed to create a capsule wardrobe I wouldn't feel invisible in. I'd travelled with my friend Jo when I was 18, looking like a sack of spuds in elasticated trousers. I wouldn't make the same mistake twice.

So while Train Man pored over guidebooks, I went to every Roxy store in London to find the perfect beach dress. And then there was the make-up. My dressing table is a pigment party of juicy eyeshadows, cheek creams and gorgeous lipglosses – how could I scale that down?

To save room on eyelash curlers and mascara, I did the single most shallow thing I've ever done: I had my lashes permed and tinted. I told Train Man it was for medical reasons – that if I couldn't curl my lashes every day I wouldn't be able to see properly. He looked at me proudly, kissed my eyes and commended me on having such long lashes. Bless.

So the teary family farewell at Terminal 3 was lightened by my luggage triumph as I teased Train Man on his sloppy packing. "But I'm carrying the guidebooks, your washbag, your sleeping bag and your towel!" he moaned. Good point, I thought. He'll look after me this year…

Miles covered: 20 (getting to Heathrow).
Terse setences exchanged: None... yet.
Panic attacks: Don't ask!

Next week: Zoë runs into trouble in India

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e5502d9d8d8834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.