TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« LOVE ON THE ROAD | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

07/12/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

Love on the road


This week ZoË and train man
go mountain climbing



THIS WEEK ZOË KICKS BACK WHILE TRAIN MAN KICKS OFF

We have two weeks left before we fly to Melbourne, and we're ending the past five months of Asian craziness on a chilled high. Well, that's what I'd hoped. Train Man is driving me "doolally", to coin my favourite Indian word.

We're in the Gili Islands in Indonesia and it's my favourite place so far. I love it. Gili Trawangan has white empty beaches and we've been swimming with sea turtles and eating in amazing restaurants. And the best bit? Dogs are banned. I have been able to run around the whole island (it takes 45 hot but picturesque minutes) without having to duck and dive because of rabid dogs chasing my tail again. Oh, and there's a bar where they play Ricky Martin, which makes Train Man cringe but makes me want to shake my bonbon.

Trouble is, put Train Man on a beach and he has the attention span of a tropical fish. He starts pacing around and blocking my sun (grrr) after only 10 minutes. "Want to play frisbee?" "Please come for a swim." "There's bloody sand everywhere!" – my answers to which are: "No", "No" and "I know, you've just kicked 
it in my face!" Yesterday he tried to make me play with him by throwing the frisbee at my head, almost slicing off the tip of my nose (double grrr).

But just as I was getting really annoyed, I've been thrown a lifeline. This morning, as we were running, we heard someone shout Train Man's name. It was his workmate, Will, and his lovely girlfriend Desiree, who just happen to be holidaying here on this near-deserted island. Brilliant timing.

So I'm going back to my tanning oil (I know, it's terribly irresponsible) and Train Man is now throwing the frisbee at Will's head, not mine. Yay!

Miles travelled: 1,117

Terse sentences exchanged: 5

Tan tone: More Coleen than Cheryl

Next week: Zoë gets up to some monkey business

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e553ac10c78834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

Wayne Campbell

Be careful! Marriage is a punishment for shoplifting in some countries!

Love the column!

Wayne Campbell

The comments to this entry are closed.