TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« LOVE ON THE ROAD | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

06/21/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

THIS WEEK ZOË PONDERS WHAT HER TRAVELS HAVE TAUGHT HER

This week I had a realisation. I've been travelling with Train Man for four months and 19 days – a third of our trip. So this is what I've learnt about life and love in that time:

1. A Bollywood film is so long, it can take three nights to watch.

2. Single beds are big enough for two people – you just have to really like the person you're sleeping with.

3. For the best seats, get on a bus first but a boat last.

4. Old Vietnamese men make good running buddies (they're slow and encouraging).

5. Train Man can spend an hour taking one photo.

6. Sometimes Train Man loves his camera more than he loves me.

7. After six weeks of eating curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Pizza Hut doesn't seem that bad.

8. After six weeks of curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will have gained weight.

9. Thai ladyboys have better legs than I do.

10. You can watch Man United play live anywhere in Asia.

11. I'm not the best Spanish teacher, and Train Man is not the best Spanish student.

12. If a travel guide calls a restaurant ‘classy', it won't be.

13. Three hours writing emails seems like three minutes.

14. Sometimes I love my laptop more than I love Train Man.

15. A ‘mid-range' hotel in India doesn't mean clean sheets.

16. Backpacking with a boy is great if you hate spiders.

17. You don't need half the products in your make-up bag.

18. Bangkok has the worst climate for a girl with wavy hair. I should have brought my GHDs.

19. Running in towns full of wild dogs is inadvisable.

20. Train Man is quite possibly the most beautiful and tolerant man in the world.

Miles travelled: 564

Terse sentences exchanged: 0

Pizza cravings: off the scale

Next week: Zoë celebrates her birthday up a mountain

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e5535fa82d8833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.