TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« LOVE ON THE ROAD | Main | LOVE ON THE ROAD »

03/15/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

LOVE ON THE ROAD

THIS WEEK ZOË AND TRAIN MAN HIT THE BACKWATERS OF KERALA

How fortuitous that nautical stripes are fashionable again," I thought as I boarded the houseboat wearing my finest designer top.

Well, it was fine until it went through an Indian 'laundrette'. It now smells of river water and is paper thin, but no matter.

It was Tuesday, our third anniversary, and the most romantic setting either Train Man or I had ever been in.

Luxury wooden houseboat all to ourselves? Check. Palm trees aplenty? Yep. Meandering lily-strewn backwaters peppered with too-cute water-edge churches? In abundance.

Personal chef making the most amazing yet worryingly creamy curries? Oh. My. God.

Since the Taj Mahal last week I've clutched the KarmaKerala brochure and have been looking misty eyed at Train Man. Gold star for romance and forward-planning. While I'd been scathing about his nerdy 'six weeks in India' spreadsheet, he'd done it to plan this.

And I felt so bad about almost forgetting our anniversary, I bought him a panic present – a CD by Bollywood's Shahrukh Khan, who for some reason makes Train Man laugh.

So we've spent three days swimming and eating Keralan 'wedding feasts' off banana leaves with our hands. At night we've played cards and watched stars pop out over southern India – and I can honestly say it's been paradise on earth.

Only there's always trouble in paradise. Just like the fact I have to end a meal on a sweet, I also have to run three times a week (I suspect the two are linked).

It's a de-stressing ritual and I start climbing the walls if I can't. All those curries + a lack of running-friendly places in India = feeling very claustrophobic.

So after we disembark, I slip on my Adidas. Train Man offers to come with me, but I'm not sure how to tell him I'd rather go alone...

Miles covered: 1,472

Terse sentences exchanged: One brewing

Laziness level: My hips don't lie

Next week: Zoë is horrified by Train Man's diva tendencies

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e5510364728834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LOVE ON THE ROAD:

Comments

Margaret Rose Fortin

Hi Zoe,

I'm Lorene's Mum in Chapleau, Ontario, Canada and have been following your travels from the beginning. Have been enjoying your commentary about the exotic places and 'Train Man'. Glad to hear you've stumbled into a sort of 'Eden' with your voyage on the houseboat and that things are finally looking up. Looking forward to the next episode.

Regards...............Margaret

The comments to this entry are closed.