TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL... TRAVEL...


« VIP VACATIONS | Main | VIP VACATIONS »

09/06/2008

VIP
VACTIONS

VIP VACATIONS

Vip_032 DESTINATION: VENICE

Singer and presenter JANE MCDONALD, 45, celebrated her divorce five years ago with a trip to Venice, the city of romance – on her own!

"I truly believe all women should take time out and spoil themselves after a break-up. I really needed a pick-me-up when I split from my husband and manager Henrik Brixen in 2003, so I booked a long weekend in Venice.

It might sound strange being in a romantic city alone but it didn't bother me. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when a private water taxi whisked me from the airport to the luxury Hotel Cipriani.

My room overlooked St Mark's Square and in the street below a man was singing love songs. During my stay, I went 
to the Bridge of Sighs, had a Bellini in Harry's Bar, window-shopped at Prada and Dolce & Gabbana, and bought a beautiful red pashmina from a market stall, which still reminds me of my liberating holiday.

Dining out alone didn't worry me at all. One night, I sat in a fantastic restaurant and thought about how exciting the future was going to be – not what I'd lost.

I fell in love with Venice, but I didn't need to be with a man to go there. Now I'm dating Ed Roth from The Searchers, and I'm very happy. I don't know if I'd visit Venice with him as it holds specific memories for me. But one day I'd love to go back."

Rooms at the Hotel Cipriani cost from around £550 per night. Or enjoy a cocktail in one of its bars – a Bellini at Cip's Club is about £12. Visit Hotelcipriani.com. Jane McDonald's new album, Jane, is out now. Visit Jane-mcdonald.com for tour dates.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00e54f7d5d25883300e554dd53f38833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference VIP VACATIONS:

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.